town_142HAPPY, WET NOVEMBER

Okay, enough is enough!

I’m speaking to the weather gods.

We had the wettest October in recorded history and, quite frankly, it wasn’t even close. We shattered the record for rain, and we’re talking about Olympia, Washington, a place that is quite familiar with rain.  In fact, it was the tenth wettest month of all-time here and my goodness, take it from me, I’ve seen some wet months in these parts.

And then, just for a tease effect, we broke the record for the warmest October 29th on record, with a beautiful 67 degrees seemingly coming out of nowhere.

So I, for one, am happy that November is here.  Not that we aren’t fully capable of having another rainy month from hell in November, because we are, but because November puts us one month closer to spring.

Hope “springs” eternal!

UPDATE ON OUR URBAN FARM

Well, nothing has floated away yet, so that’s good news.

I got the garlic planted just in time, and it has already sprouted and is poking up above the hay mulch, so that’s good.  We are going to have a whole lot of garlic this spring.

All of the critters are still alive, so that’s also good.  The chickens are not real fond of all this rain but hey, they can just stand in line to complain. Their coop is dry and well-ventilated, so that’s about all they can hope for until April.  Our new baby chicks are no longer babies, and this weekend I’ll finish with their coop. Then they and their substitute brooder momma can move into their new home for the winter.

BUTCHER DAY

I may have mentioned (or I may not have) that our son and his wife had an open house on their goat farm last week. They sold eggs, goat meat, and goat cheese, and it was quite successful. We also took part in the open house, using it as an opportunity to butcher some of our excess among the quail flock.  Bev went out one Saturday and butchered twenty quail, and they all sold during the open house, so financially that was a very nice windfall.  And it was necessary. We had too many quail for the winter and cutting down the flock will make it better for the quail that we kept.town_642

We also have an order for twenty quail for a Harvest Festival Dinner being held in November by our local Farm & Garden Center, so we’ll be delivering those quail in the next couple weeks, and now it’s a week later and the order was cancelled. Such is life.

WHAT TO DO?

There are just a few odds and ends remaining to be done and then we’ll be ready for the winter.  I need to plant some mushroom plugs this weekend, and I need to mend a fence.  The hoses need to be put away and the faucets wrapped.  We will continue making compost and Bev ordered five cubic yards of leaves from the City, and when those are delivered we’ll spread them as mulch.

And that’s really all that’s left to do before the really nasty weather arrives.

CHICKS

I guess we’re going to be raising chicks for the Urban Farm & Garden Center. Bev came home and said her boss is looking for someone to raise the chicks until they are old enough to sell, and they don’t have a suitable place to do that at the Center…so that means we’ll get paid for doing what we love to do, and that’s a win-win in my book.  We do it all summer with quail so what the heck, right?  Might as well turn those heat lamps on in the winter and make some extra cash.

OUR NEXT PROJECT

File this under “when we get around to it.”  We plan on starting to grow indoor plants as well as herbs in our not-yet-finished greenhouse.  We are thinking of selling herbs and indoor plants next spring and summer at the Farmers’ Markets we attend, so we’ll be working on those this winter.  It’s something new for us, so we are gathering information right now and then we’ll get started on it.

And I’ll be ordering some red worms soon and raise them in the garage this winter.

So that’s it from our little urban farm in Olympia, Washington. Thanks for visiting!

And oh, by the way, it’s still raining!

Bill

10 thoughts on “Urban Farming in November

  1. My brain is about to burst just reading about all that you do on your farm. But, I get it! Farming is so much fun. I love it when we get the “free” mulch from the county. It’s rich (and smelly) but I know it is going to help us grow the best veggies ever. Happy planting!

    Like

  2. Sigh…the “butchering” part. Ack…that’s where I don’t do it. I just sit there and cry, lol.
    But you really are just doing so many awesome things – way to create multiple income streams – all doing things you like!
    That’s where I’m at: just doing things I like. I realized the other day that although I do not have an easy job, it has surprise me: I’m more of a leader now and less of a “subordinate.” I say that because all this other stuff I like to do is gravy. Well…at least I like it all right now, lol…if you talk to me in a couple years, I might be saying something else, haha.
    But no, really…doing all kinds of things to eke out a living? Yes, please. I do love that about the internet. 🙂
    Cheers, Big Bro!

    Like

    1. Lil Sis, I’m afraid the butchering part is necessary. Otherwise many of them will starve to death over the winter, or attack each other. We’re taking the humane way out but I can tell you with no hesitation, I do not enjoy it at all. Sigh!

      Like

  3. Sounds like you are well geared up for the wild Winter months ahead on the Urban Farm. Love the sound of your new indoor plant idea, wish I could avail of them at market! Have a great weekend my friend Il be at market Sat just 4 more (indoor now) to wrap up 2016. Have a good one Bill!

    Like

Leave a Reply

