town_142WELCOME BACK!

Mid-February and the to-do list isn’t getting any shorter.  I check one item off and two take its place.  Sigh!  I’d better kick it in gear pretty soon because planting season is a month away.

If the rains ever stops.  We were teased by four days of gorgeous weather and then reality returned.

SO WHAT HAVE WE ACCOMPLISHED?

Well, we sold six rabbits.  That was something.  We cleaned out the two aviaries.  That was something else.

We bought a new incubator and our first batch of eggs is incubating as I write this, so that’s a big something.

And the chickens have started laying eggs again, and that’s another big something.  This is about a month earlier for them than last year.  I’m sure it has something to do with the balmy weather we are having, although that has nothing to do with the hours of sunlight but hey, I never claimed to be an expert.  My main job is to keep all the critters alive and then stand back and let them do their thing.

HOOP HOUSES

If you want to get an early start on growing, may I suggest a hoop house?  They are so easy and inexpensive to make.  If you have an old tent you don’t use, then you can use the extension poles from the tent. If not then get yourself some PVC pipe.  Drape plastic over the hoop design and you have an instant greenhouse.  Once the weather gets nice and warm you can roll the plastic up on one side and get all the natural sunshine you want for your crops.cloche

THINGS TO DO IN FEBRUARY AND MARCH

  • Cover soil with plastic or a cloche to dry out the soil in preparation of planting
  • Divide perennials
  • Plant bare-root trees and shrubs
  • Prune grapes
  • Hang Mason bee houses in March
  • Plant berries
  • Prep garden beds
  • Start seeds
  • Mulch perennial beds and weed

That should keep you busy enough for the next thirty days….or not!

EXPERIMENT

We experiment a lot here.  We have no idea if our new ideas will work…or not work…but there’s really only one way to find out, right?  Right!  We started out four years ago using nothing but raised garden beds.  This year will mark the first year totally without raised beds. This will be the first year using straw bales as a planting medium, and the first year with a greenhouse.  Right this moment Bev is outside trying something new.  I’m afraid, and excited, to find out what it is she’s doing.  LOLstraw bale

TIME IS NOT ON MY SIDE

Despite what the Rolling Stones said many years ago, time is not on my side.  With this new job in the real world, I simply don’t have the hours to get everything done around here AND write.

I have a grape arbor that should have been completed by now but, as I look out the front window, there it sits in semi-splendor.  I have three posts in the ground for the new aviary; three more posts remain waiting.  I have a new chicken coop waiting….and waiting….half-completed and……

Well, you get the point.

But we do what we can do when we can do it.

SO I’LL LEAVE YOU AND GO DO SOMETHING

We are having a rare sunny day today.  We’ve had the rainiest winter on record this year, so these days are few and far between.  I’ll check in with you later down the road. Thanks for stopping by and chatting with me over the fence.

Random question:  Are you raising chickens yet? If not, why not?  Give it some consideration.  You won’t be disappointed.

Random thought:  Bev’s oldest son married a wonderful woman and they live on a goat farm nearby.  There were three babies born yesterday, and Bev’s son brought one of them over last night.  The baby fell asleep on my lap.  Absolutely adorable!

Now I’m gone!

Bill

14 thoughts on “February Thoughts on the Urban Farm

  1. I am so jealous of you and your fun-filled farm. It looks like I am stuck here at the little farm for another year. Things don’t always go as planned in life, let alone in the garden. I long for the day when I will be able to advance to the bigger farm that my husband and I have planned. But, life is what it is. I will just have to live vicariously through you and “Alaska, The Last Frontier.”

    Like

    1. I have yet to watch Alaska Bush People. I have been thinking about it, but now that you mention it I think I’ll give it a look. Shows like that are fun to watch and at the same time, I do learn a thing or two. But, they always leave me wondering where in the world all their equipment is coming from. The $20K tractors… OK. But, the $200K bulldozers… wait a minute! How are they affording all of this while simply living off the land? It doesn’t matter. I’m probably just jealous because they have it and I don’t. Life! Live it or lose it.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh, I think the same thing….on the Bush People they are more “hands-on” solutions rather than the expensive equipment…like you I think it’s fun to watch and if true, fascinating.

    Like

  3. Hi Bill. My heart rejoices as I am ” walking” with you around your urban farm and ‘helping’ you with everything you do (in my imagination) visualizing ( as I used to, growing on farm). Your thoughts are full of life and create a desire to live as long as possible and producing for own livelihood . ( An enthusiastic person never quits dreaming…)
    Have a great weather condition for everything you want and need accomplish – on time. ( In our area the weather forecast for next thirty-six hours 8-12 in. new snow.)
    Blessing and peace my friend.

    Like

  4. We have 3 laying hens so far & are planning on raising chooks for meat but all is on hold until we get back from a long planned for trip to Europe. We are back in mid June (our winter) so will still probably have to wait til the end of the year for the “flock” to arrive. But we have rabbits on our horizon too & they will start as soon as we get back!!
    I am loving the trips around your farm & you are giving me lots of inspiration 🙂

    Like

    1. I’m so glad to hear it. Thanks for stopping by and have a marvelous time in Europe. Our chickens are laying daily now. We are still waiting for the quail to begin laying and then the operations will be in full swing. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Be sure and let us know how the straw planters work–I am interested–hang in there–I think about you when I get busy and fail to keep up–you are such an inspiration–always–

    Like

  6. Oh my goodness. I completely understand about having the job and having time to write AND do all the other things you want to do. There’s just only so much a person can do.

    But you know what I love about this post? Is that you illustrate that life happens now. Not next week when such-and-such happens or next month or next year. Life has a way of “cycling” with the changing seasons and new life in the spring.

    You didn’t wait until you bought a farm in the country: you’re embracing what you want to do now.

    And you’re cranking out novels! You’re incredible! I admire you, Big Bro. 🙂

    Like

  7. I LOVE what you’ve done with this blog, Bill! Everything is so clean and the pictures are eye-catching. Most of all, I love the authenticity and the tips about getting out into your garden at home – even if it’s not to raise chickens, etc. It sooooo resonates with me right now. Lots of stress at work, but it’s autumn here (finally!) and a long weekend, so I’ve spent a bit of time outside, pulling weeds and organising things in the garden – just creating a little zone of zen. 🙂 Your blog here is inspiring me to do more than just pull weeds, I promise, but it’s a start! Next after pay day – a few plants, I think. Keep going my friend, really enjoy what you’re putting out here.

    Like

    1. Thank you for the kind words, Mel. I’ve been so busy of late I haven’t written on this very often. But that’s going to change soon.

      Best wishes to you…get some pretty flowers. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

