random backyard pics 002Ch-ch-ch-changes!

My thanks to David Bowie for that opening line.

Bev and I are pretty good about our flexibility.  If something isn’t working for us, we don’t lose a lot of sleep over it.  We don’t point the finger of blame and we don’t play the “what if” game.  We just make changes and move forward.

We’ve had our vegetable garden for four years now.  It’s done a pretty good job despite our lack of time to properly care for it, but we know it could do much, much better.

Ch-ch-ch-changes!

In the past we’ve used raised beds for most of our planting.  We’ve done okay.  We knock it out of the park with things like kale, potatoes, beans and peas. We are terribly inconsistent with other veggies, and it’s that inconsistency that is prompting…..

Ch-ch-ch-changes!

WHAT CHANGES YOU ASK?

Out with the old, in with the new.

I’ll be tearing apart the raised beds, probably today.town_672

Later in the month we’ll be moving a 10’x20’ storage structure that is made from PVC pipe to the garden area, and in the early spring we’ll cover that with heavy plastic and make a greenhouse.  We are quite confident our yield will be much better with the greenhouse, and the rest of the area outside the greenhouse can still be planted in potatoes, beans, kale and pea.

The best of both worlds!

THERE WAS A TIME LONG AGO

Back in another era, when I was young, it would have annoyed the hell out of me to make something and then decide it didn’t do the job.  I would have considered that to be a huge mistake on my part and kicked myself in the butt for weeks over it.

Today I consider it a learning experience.

You’ll hear the good and the bad here.  I won’t pretend things are all right if they’re not, and I won’t pretend something works if it doesn’t.  Hopefully you’ll learn as we stumble along on our urban farm.  Maybe we can save you some time and effort.

WHAT ELSE?

Garden Oct 3, 2012 004I’ve barely mentioned the front yard, but there is a ton of work to do out there.  The plan is to make it an edible front yard.  I don’t know if I’ve mentioned this before, but I think lawns are an abomination.  I hope that doesn’t upset anyone out there with a lawn but so be it if it does.  I drive by a green lawn where it is obvious the homeowner has watered it, despite the water shortage, and I’m livid.  I see a green lawn and I then see what it could be, lush, ripe vegetables and fruits that could be feeding people…instead of a green carpet that serves no purpose whatsoever.

But that’s a rant for another day.  Suffice it to say we have a lot of work waiting for us around front.  I’ll keep you posted.

THINGS TO DO IN SEPTEMBER

I’ll try to keep you informed of some chores that can be done each month.  Here we are in September, so here is a short list of chores to consider doing:

  • Divide your perennials
  • Erect a cloche or hoop house for hardy winter greens
  • Harvest summer crops
  • Set out slug traps
  • Sow overwintering squash, arugula and cilantro
  • Sow winter salad greens
  • Transplant lettuce, spinach, chard, kale and other cold-hardy greens

That should give you something to think about.

See you soon!

Bill

7 thoughts on “Nothing Changes if Nothing Changes

      1. I know what you mean. I have kale growing where I planted beets. The beets did not come up, but there is kale growing in the spot that I harvested last season and “rotated” (swapped out) for beets. I’m still scratching my head over that one.

        Like

  1. Hi Billy,
    I found myself smiling when I read that you thought lawns were an ‘abomination’. I travelled in a double decker bus into the city today where I could look over the fence of the gardens, many were covered in a thick layer of shale or stone to keep down the weeds. I thought this an abomination when I knew they could have been put down to beauty, flowers which could either be sold or planted to fruit and vegetables. It is a strange society which thinks it is better to go to the supermarket to buy fruit and veg when they could so easily walk into the yard and pluck delicious produce from the garden. I can almost imagine that juice trickling down my chin)
    Best wishes,
    Sally

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sally, I have despised lawns since I was a kid mowing them. My dislike for them hasn’t improved over the years. And now that there is a shortage of water, and we don’t know what poisons are going into our fruits and vegetables, it’s just amazing to me that people still insist on a green lawn. I must be strange. 🙂 Thanks for sharing that bus trip with us.

      Like

Leave a Reply

