town_553What’s in a name?

The name of this blog should be self-explanatory with the possible exception of the word “sanctuary.”  What am I referring to? Why not just use the title without that word?

Actually, the word “sanctuary” is fairly important to us.  Let me explain.

A BASIC BELIEF WE HOLD

Here’s the thing: we don’t believe in putting animals in cages.  Oh sure, our quail are in aviaries (actually Bev calls quailries, but that’s another story), but the aviaries are rather large and we are quite certain the quail feel a certain freedom of movement.

Our chickens have the entire yard to roam in.  The rabbits are in the aviaries so that is considerably better than living in a cage….and the goats have the entire yard.  We believe we are providing a much better home by doing this than if we kept our animals in wire cages that severely restrict their movement….thus, they are in a sanctuary.town_142

PLUS….

Sitting in our backyard is like sitting in an emotional sanctuary for Bev and I.  We love it here.  We are at peace here.  We leave the craziness of the world at the front door. When we walk into the backyard we enter a different world.

So the word “sanctuary” is very appropriate.

Sanctuary also means a place of safety.  We have spent quite a bit of money to keep our animals and birds safe.  Short of a grizzly bear, nothing is going to harm our critters.  We could have done it all cheaper but the way we see it, our animals’ safety is our responsibility.  Bev and I are the ones who made a commitment to raise animals and birds, and part of that commitment is to give them a quality life while they are with us.  There are less expensive ways to do this urban farming gig, and I’ll talk about many of them in this blog, but I won’t cut costs where safety is concerned.

We use what is called half-inch hardware cloth on the aviaries. We learned the hard way. The first time we did this we used chicken wire, only to find out a determined raccoon or weasel can get through chicken wire. That cost us twenty-two quail and it was a lesson well-learned.  So hardware cloth it is; expensive but safe.  We dug a trench a foot deep all the way around the two aviaries and sunk the hardware cloth that deep to prevent animals from burrowing in…and out…another precaution that equals safety.

COMING UP……

Next post I’ll talk to you about raising quail.  Hopefully I can get some of you interested.town_358

Bill

10 thoughts on “Sanctuary is Important to Us

    1. Hey Deb. I’ll talk more about quail in the next post. I might talk you into it yet. 🙂 Thanks for stopping by. I love goats…but man alive,they are a ton of work.

      Like

    1. Bill, I hadn’t heard about it until I got into this urban farming thing. It’s something I’m sure you’ve seen but just didn’t know what it was called. Anyway, thanks for stopping by.

      Like

  1. Bill I can feel the love for your extended ‘family’ in your inspirational and loving sanctuary. I just adore that you and Bev make keeping your animals/critters/pets SAFE a major priority. I can picture you sitting out there among nature in your beautiful love haven with nature, as well as the blessing you are to these creatures. These blogs are wonderful. God bless you both. Lea Tartanian/Sparklea 🙂

    Like

  2. Thank you so much, Lea! I think there is a right way to raise animals and a wrong way. I’m going to do everything I can to provide quality of life for ours.

    blessings my friend on this wonderfully cool day

    Like

  3. Bill, I’m already interested! You have already helped my husband and me regarding our own little farm. We want to raise chicken and quail. Last night we were talking about chicken wire and whether or not that would be enough to keep the animals safe. When you share your experience, I take serious notes. Thanks so much, Bill. This is valuable information for me.

    Like

Leave a Reply

